News from Examination Boards

Trinity College London and ABRSM suspend exams

5:39, 20th March 2020 - source:

In response to the COVID-19 outbreak two of the UK’s biggest music exam boards have suspended their exams. 

Both Trinity College London and the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM) have suspended all music exams until further notice, with the exception of a few theory exams in ABRSM’s case. ABRSM has stated that they plan to suspend exams until at least 1 July 2020, while Trinity is yet to confirm an exact date.

Trinity stated on their website, on 19 March, that they are ‘committed to supporting the hard work of candidates and teachers around the world. We know the amount of time and effort involved in preparing for our assessments, and how disappointing it will be to have to postpone exams. We are therefore working on a number of exciting new initiatives that will enable candidates for certain examinations to submit work digitally during this difficult period…We will continue to monitor all local and international Government advice and will resume face-to-face examinations as soon as it is safe to do so.’

ABRSM stated on their website: ‘We are aware that this decision has a significant impact on our community and everyone who is preparing for their exams. However, I would like to reassure you that we are here for you. Our staff may be working from home, but we remain connected and reachable.

‘We will continue to monitor the rapidly changing situation so we can begin to deliver exams wherever we can, as soon as we can, and always in line with latest guidance and without compromising the safety of those involved. We will keep you updated on our latest plans through email, our website and social media channels…Our message to everyone in these difficult times is “Embrace your music, throw yourself into your practice, your playing, your singing or your teaching, and reach for your goals.” ABRSM will be here to provide support, information and advice to learners, teachers and parents.’

To find out more visit, and

© Copyright JSW Music